Indians announce 2017 tennis schedule and roster

Indians announce 2017 tennis schedule and roster

Indians announce 2017 tennis schedule and roster
Adam Gore/

Fulton, MS - The Indians' tennis team released its 2017 schedule, as announced by first-year head coach Michael Metz. The 15-match schedule includes eight matches at the Johnson-Partlow Tennis Courts.

ICC will open the 2017 season with four-straight home matches. The season opener will be on February 24 against East Central Community College. Other home matches include: Copiah-Lincoln Community College, Meridian Community College, Holmes Community College, Hinds Community College, Wallace State (AL) Community College-Hanceville, Jones County Junior College, and Northeast Mississippi Community College.

VIDEO: Coach Metz talks about the upcoming season

Indians earn No. 25 ITA preseason ranking

The ICC men's team is one of seven teams in the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) to earn preseason nods from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

The Indians will face six ranked opponents in 2017, including their opening match of the season against No. 22 East Central. Other ranked opponents include: No. 11 Meridian, No. 17 Copiah-Lincoln, No. 18 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, No. 19 Jones County, and No. 24 Hinds.


The Indians' roster will be made up of seven freshmen. They include: Ezra Blissard (Houston), Edsan Marchant (Haleyville, AL), Russell Applewhite (Amory), Michael Crotts (New Albany), Roberto Valadez (New Albany), Chris Shands (New Albany), and Brendan Jobe (Corinth). 

For the latest news and updates on all things ICC tennis, follow ICC Athletics on Twitter (@LetsGoICC) and like ICC Tennis and ICC Athletics on Facebook.