69 ICC student-athletes earn conference academic honors

69 ICC student-athletes earn conference academic honors

JACKSON, Miss. – Itawamba Community College had 69 student-athletes earn academic honors from the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) Friday.

The MACJC awards two separate academic honors based on GPA, Distinguished Academic All-State and Academic All-State.

ICC's honorees included 28 student-athletes, Distinguished All-State for having a 3.80 or better grade point average (GPA), and 41, Academic All-State with a 3.25-3.79 GPA.

The Distinguished Academic All-State by sport:
Baseball - Jacob Hall (Petal), Pate Phillips (Saltillo).
Women's basketball -  Elizabeth Ingram (Corinth)
Golf - Parker Humber (Caledonia)
Men's soccer - Brian Heredia (Pelham, Ala.), Jake Kirkpatrick (Amory), Garrett Mills (Corinth), Clayton O'Daniel (Tupelo)
Women's soccer - Gracie Bertelsen (Natchez), Cynthia Betancourt (New Albany), Sara Eckhoff (Lewisburg), Sanders Goode (New Albany), Grace Joyce (Oxford), Halle Moore (Oxford), Lexi Pund (Tupelo), Ally Shinall (Oxford), Sarah Whitt (Pontotoc)
Softball - Mary Kate Butler (Pontotoc), Samantha Conley (Mandeville, La.), Macey Cox (Troy, Tenn.), Jessica Davis (Cumberland), Lilli Moore (Fulton), Savannah Stamps (Tuscaloosa, Ala.), Landyn Stoddard (Calhoun City), Makenzie Toombs (Ackerman)
Women's tennis - Riley Crouch (Amory), Caroline Ferguson (Tupelo), Farrah Fowlkes (Amory).

Academic All-State honorees by sport:
Baseball -  Kylan Carter (Houston), Justin Medlin (Ripley), David Rowland (Florence, Ala.), Ray Sandroni (Tupelo), Jonathan Weeks (Pontotoc), Hank White (Saltillo)
Men's basketball - Ma'Darius Hobson (Houlka)
Women's basketball - Sara Friloux (Tupelo), Darquazha McClatchey (Independence)
Football - Trip Brown (Louisville), Dalton Combs (Nettleton), Caleb Comer (Caledonia), Jakob Cunningham (Louisville), Hayden Franklin (Pontotoc), LaKendrick Jones (Independence), Kerry McKenzie (Tupelo), Cameron Orr (Fulton), Shed Ross (Grenada), Spencer Unruh (Caledonia)
Golf -  Colby Davis (Saltillo)
Men's soccer -  Peyton Avery (Amory), Luan Balestieri (Rio Grande, Brazil), Alex Box (Amory), Cameron Koehn (Amory), Preston Mattox (Tupelo), Ryan Morgan (Amory), Austin Rowell (Amory), Bryan Vogel (New Hope), Josh White (Tupelo), Marcus Wood Jr. (Scooba)
Women's soccer - Hannah Covington (Saltillo), Addison Meadows (Oxford), Alex Stevens (Aberdeen), Brittany Sullivan (Fulton)
Softball - Kacey Carpenter (Grenada), Ellie Meine (Olive Branch), Mattie Meine (Olive Branch), Kaylee Nelson (Moulton, Ala.), Hannah Sparks (Mantachie)
Men's tennis - Reese Duncan (Pontotoc)
Women's tennis - Maggie Creekmore (New Albany).

Please Note: The MACJC criteria follows the same as the NJCAA and nominations are based on the 2018-19 school term only and is not a cumulative GPA. Students must earn at least 24 hours in the 2018-19 school year to be eligible. Also, any hours attempted must be included if the student stays in the class beyond the 15 calendar day of the term. If a student-athlete drops the class after that point, those hours are still counted in hours attempted with zero quality points.