Applewhite earns Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award

Applewhite earns Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award

FULTON, Miss. – Russell Applewhite was one of four JUCO male tennis players to earn the International Tennis Association (ITA) Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award.

Applewhite is the first ever ICC student-athlete to receive the award, which recognizes individuals who have shown outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements.

The Amory native advanced to the quarterfinals of the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region 23 tournaments in his final season with the Indians.   

Other student-athletes joining Applewhite as this year's award recipients include: Ryan Fabre of Saddleback College (Calif.); Akinori Wada of Collin College (Texas); and Alexander Boozer of Gadsden State (Ala.) College.

Click here to see the complete list of 2018 JUCO Regional Award Winners.

For more information on ICC tennis, follow ICC Athletics on Twitter (@LetsGoICC).